Home/About CSTM / Awards / 2017 Award Winners

2017 Award Winners

Blum Award

The 2017 recipient of the Blum Award is Eric Ching. 
Eric was born and raised in Hong Kong. In 1974, he completed his medical laboratory science at the University of Hawaii. In the following year, he finished his internship at St. Francis Hospital in Honolulu.

Eric began his blood bank career at the Calgary Red Cross. He left 6 years later as a charge technologist in component production and quality control. For the next 18 years, working at the Foothills Medical Centre in Calgary, Eric taught and learned from many students, technologists, Advanced Registered Technologist (ART) candidates, pathology residents, and hematology fellows. He also helped establish the bone marrow and stem cell transplant cryopreservation and purification program in Calgary.

Eric has also been teaching correspondence courses with the Southern Alberta Institute of Technology and the Canadian Society of Medical Laboratory Science since 1994. In 1998, Eric joined DBL/Immucor as the Blood Bank System Education specialist in western Canada.

Through sponsorships from DBL/Immucor, Eric conducted workshops in blood group serology and presented seminars regularly in provincial and national meetings. He is also a chartered member of the MODE Group, which promotes continuing education to medical laboratory technologists and other health care professionals in conjunction with the Canadian Society of Medical Laboratory Science.

Eric is now happily retired and enjoying traveling, teaching and blogging at the CSTM web site. 
 Congratulations Eric and Thank You!

Ortho Award

There are many strong candidates across Canada who are deserving of this award. This year we are pleased to honour Dr. Jason Acker.
Dr. Jason Acker is the Senior Development Scientist with the Canadian Blood Services’ Centre for Innovation and a Professor in the Department of Laboratory Medicine and Pathology at the University of Alberta, Edmonton, Canada. His research focuses on understanding the response of cells and tissues to ex vivo storage and the development of methods for their preservation and use as therapeutic products. 

Dr. Acker’s blood services laboratory has responsibility for developing scientific and technical evidence to support innovative changes in blood product manufacturing, storage and utilization at Canadian Blood Services. Through the Product and Process Development group, Dr. Acker leads Canadian Blood Services’ efforts to assess new technology, products and processes that can improve the efficiency, quality and safety of blood product manufacturing. 

Congratulations Jason on receiving the Ortho Award, 2017.

Buchanan Award

This year, the Buchanan Award recipient, selected by conference Scientific Committee, is Melanie Tokessy.
Melanie graduated from the Medical Laboratory Technology (MLT) program at Algonquin College in 1991. She worked at the Ottawa Hospital in Biochemistry and Histology until transferring to Transfusion Medicine in 1993 where she has been charge technologist since 2000. She is the MLT Student Clinical Coordinator for Eastern Ontario Laboratory Association.In addition to her Transfusion Medicine position, Melanie has taken a teaching position at St Lawrence College where she teaches theory and lab in Molecular Biology for the Medical Laboratory Program. Outside of the lab Melanie enjoys her time as hockey and soccer mom to her two children. 
Congratulations Melanie!