Home/About CSTM / Awards and Bursaries / 2018 Award Winners

2018 Award Winners

Blum Award

The 2018 recipient of the Blum Award is Debbie Lauzon. 
Debbie is a medical laboratory technologist with advanced certification in Transfusion Medicine and an honors degree in Health Administration. In May 2015, she retired from her position as the Regional Manager for the Ontario Regional Blood Coordinating Network in Central Ontario.
Debbie served on the board of directors for CSTM from 2008 to 2016 and was president of the society from 2012 – 2014.  As a former member of the Institute for Health Quality Management Accreditation Advisory Committee (formerly OLA) and the former chair of the Transfusion Committee for the EQA Program for IQMH, she was dedicated to promoting excellence in Transfusion Medicine.  
Since retiring in May 2015, she has been enjoying traveling, running, playing pickle ball, volunteering for CBS and spending time with family and friends.
Congratulations Debbie and Thank You!

Ortho Award

There are many strong candidates across Canada who are deserving of this award. This year we are pleased to honour Dr. Irene Sadek.
Dr. Irene Sadek obtained her Medical degree from Cairo University in Egypt. She then completed her Hematological Pathology Residency Training at Dalhousie University in Halifax, and a Fellowship in Stem Cells at the University of Nebraska Medical Center in Omaha. She has been working as a hematopathologist at the QEII Health Sciences Centre since 1998 and became Head of the Division of Hematopathology in 2003. She was also the Director of the Blood Transfusion Service at CDHA and NSHA - Central Zone and Chair of the Advisory committee for the Nova Scotia Blood Coordinating Program.

Dr. Sadek was the program director for Hematological Pathology Residency Training. She has also started a Transfusion Medicine Fellowship Training Program at Dalhousie University in 2004 and chaired it for 10 years. She is currently the chair of the Royal College Specialty training committee in Hematological Pathology. She is a member of the Canadian National Advisory Committee on blood and blood products. She has a great interest in appropriate utilization and was the Canadian Society of Transfusion Medicine lead for Choosing Wisely Canada initiative.

As of last September she became the Department Head of Pathology at Dalhousie University and NSHA - Central Zone. Dr. Sadek continues to serve on many provincial and national committees and has been involved with the new initiative Choosing Wisely Nova Scotia 

Irene's award lecture is titled "Sometimes less is more".

Congratulations Irene on receiving the Ortho Award, 2018.

Buchanan Award

This year, the Buchanan Award recipient, selected by conference Scientific Committee, is Ahmed Coovadia.
Ahmed Coovadia has had a long and esteemed career working in the field of transfusion medicine. He has published over 40 papers and presented locally, nationally and internationally on his collaborative journey to share knowledge and practice in transfusion medicine. He graduated from the University of Waterloo in 1973 and the Michener Institute in 1976. Ahmed began his career at Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre in the Department of Laboratory Haematology where he held the position of Supervisor/Manager of the Blood and Tissue Bank until 2007. 

Ahmed has been an active member of the Canadian Society of Transfusion Medicine. He served as President of CSTM from 2004-2006 and received the CSTM Blum Award in 2009. He also served as the Chair of CSTM’s Annual Conference in 1996 and the Chair of Hemocare Users Group from 1995-1997.  

Additionally, Ahmed was an Assessor of the American Association of Blood Banks for 17 years.  He was also a Member of the Medical Advisory Council of the Canadian Red Cross/Blood Services for 9 years.

Following his career at Sunnybrook, Ahmed served at Canadian Blood Services as a Hospital Liaison and Utilization Specialist from 2007-2017.   

Ahmed's award lecture is titled "Reflections - collaborative journey to acquire and share knowledge and practice in Transfusion Medicine".

Congratulations Ahmed!