Home/About CSTM / Governance / Board of Directors

Board of Directors

Call for Nominations for Board of Directors
We are also pleased to announce our Call for Nominations for CSTM Board of Directors.  Nominations are now being accepted for the following Board positions:

  • Central Director
  • Director at Large 
  • Vice President 

Nominations must be received by February 29, 2020.  Further information and the nomination form can be accessed here

The elected members of the board of directors include:  the Vice President, three Regional Directors (East, West and Central) and two Directors-at-large.  Directors are nominated from within the membership of the Society. In November, a call for nominations for upcoming vacancies on the Board of Directors is posted on the website and sent electronically to members. Nominations for the board positions must be received ninety days in advance of the Annual General Meeting. In the event that more than one nomination is received, a ballot shall be conducted. Nominations must be presented to the members at the Annual General Meeting for final approval. The Vice President progresses automatically to President who in turn progresses to Past President. The Secretary-Treasurer is appointed from within the Board of Directors. 

The current Board of Directors of the Canadian Society for Transfusion Medicine is shown below. The term of office for each Director is two years beginning at the Annual General Meeting. With the exception of Vice President, President and Past President, Directors may serve two consecutive terms of office. The position of Secretary-Treasurer is appointed for two consecutive terms, and can be renewed with the approval of the Board of Directors.
Position Name Term
President Ann Wilson May 2018 – May 2020
Vice President Susanna Darnel May 2018 - May 2020
Past President Darlene Mueller May 2018 – May 2020
Secretary-Treasurer Julia Hendry May 2018 – May 2020
Western Director Joanna McCarthy May 2019 - May 2021
Central Director Anne Sophie Lemay May 2018 - May 2020
Eastern Director Cheryl Doncaster December 2019 – May 2021
Director-at-large (bilingual) Sophie Chargé May 2019 – May 2021
Director-at-large Pam Danesin May 2018 - May 2020

The CSTM Board of Directors

Ann Wilson


Susanna Darnel

Vice President

Darlene Mueller

Past President

Julia Hendry


Joanna McCarthy

Western Director

Anne Sophie Lemay

Central Director

Cheryl Doncaster

Eastern Director

Sophie Chargé

Director-at-large (bilingual)

Pam Danesin