Home/About CSTM / Awards and Bursaries / Awards Descriptions

Awards Descriptions

The Society bestows three awards annually along with educational bursaries.

QuidelOrtho Award

The QuidelOrtho Award is given to an individual CSTM member who has provided a major service or innovation in transfusion medicine.  This award is not restricted to physicians, nurses, or technologists.  The financial award and award winner's expenses are provided by QuidelOrtho. 
Nominations for the QuidelOrtho award are to be submitted to the Chair of the Nominations Committee by February 15 of each year.
Nomination Instructions 

Blum Award

The Blum Award is awarded to a member who has given outstanding service to the Society over time and is named for Edna Blum, a founding member of the Canadian Association of Immunohematologists, the forerunner of CSTM. Edna was the treasurer of the Society from 1980 to 2002, as well as serving on the Board of Directors. 

The award winner is chosen by the CSTM Board of Directors. 

Buchanan Award 

The Donald Ian Buchanan Memorial Award is given at the annual CSTM Scientific Conference to a laboratory technologist, working in the field of transfusion medicine. Dr. Buchanan was a strong supporter of technologists and encouraged them to share their expertise at meetings such as the CSTM Annual Conference. The Buchanan Award recipient is chosen by the local conference organizing committee from their catchment area. This financial award and certificate are provided by the Alberta Vein to Vein Society. Read more about Dr Buchanan 
In addition to receiving a monetary award, both the Ortho and Buchanan award recipients are given the opportunity to present a lecture at the CSTM Annual Conference.